[Press Release] Diamond Selling Band Journey’s Jonathan Cain To Release ‘What God Wants To Hear’ Oct. 21

Sep. 20, 2016

“I never had any idea how rich the Bible was with imagery. I got lost in it. It feels like I’m just starting to believe again.”

Los Angeles, Calif. Jonathan Cain, longtime keyboardist and rhythm guitarist of rock band Journey, co-writer of the No. 1 digital catalog song in history, “Don’t Stop Believin’,” as well as writer of “Faithfully” and co-writer of “Who’s Crying Now,” “Open Arms” and many more international hit songs, will release his solo album, What God Wants to Hear, October 21 on Identity Records with The Fuel Music distribution.

“Only God can take a mess and turn it into a message, a test into a testimony, a trial into a triumph, a victim into victory,” says Cain, describing the heart behind the album’s music.

Cain, who continues to tour the world with Journey, one of the most popular American rock bands of all time, crafted his new solo album from his personal faith-journey that started in Chicago when, at a young age, he wanted to be a priest. His faith was challenged after he survived a horrific fire in third grade at his school, Our Lady of the Angels School, where 92 of his fellow students along with three nuns died that day. Cain found healing and redemption in music, and his long “journey” eventually led him back to the seminal faith of his youth.

Cain’s return to his faith coincided with discovering love and healing through Paula White, senior Pastor of New Destiny Christian Center in Orlando, whom he married in April 2015. Leading worship at his wife’s annual women’s conference, Cain found a new joy in his music. “I never heard him sing like this,” says White. “Something had shifted in him.”

“I’ve always been seeking out songs since I was young,” Cain shares. “I never had any idea how rich the Bible was with imagery. I got lost in it. It feels like I’m just starting to believe again.”

The first single from his new album is available for download with preorder at iTunes beginning September 23. Cain is also exclusively offering, for a limited time, a free download of the bonus track, “Remove Every Veil,” along with an introduction to the song from Pastor Paula White at http://jonathancainmusic.com/.

What God Wants to Hear, was recorded at Addiction Sound, Cain’s state-of-the-art studio in Nashville. The full track listing follows:

01) “Deeper Than Deep”

02) “Bold In Prayer”

03) “Rush Into Me”

04) “Have Your Way With Us”

05) “In Your Waters”

06) “What God Wants To Hear”

07) “Sanctify Segue”

08) “Sanctify”

09) “Fall Into You”

10) “This House”

11) “Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You”

12) “Why I Breathe”

13) “Because The Blood”

* See album teaser at https://vimeo.com/174289859.

* Read a recent interview with Cain and Parade Magazine.